Northampton – off the tourist track

Northampton is a market town in the East Midlands and not an obvious choice for a tourist destination – by a long shot. I only went because someone I know was considering it as a choice for university and I thought: “Hey! That is only a short drive from here. I should look at it and give them my impressions.”

And I must say as a Cambridge student I am spoiled and people rightly say that places like Oxbridge are (I don’t like the word) elitist, because we have a very high percentage of academics. Northampton is not like that. It is a proper and possibly typical English town and for that I loved going there, because it shows you a side of this country that you don’t often see as a tourist. There is not much exciting to see, so you look at the people and their town.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

